legal blog

What If I’m In a Car Accident and Don’t Have My License and Registration?

Written by Jared Staver

Read Jared's Bio

Jared Staver is a Personal Injury Lawyer based in Chicago, Illinois and has been practicing law for over 20 years.

Jared Staver

CATEGORY: Auto Accidents


Being in a car accident can be a frightening experience, and if you were involved in a car crash and you don’t have your driver’s license or registration, you may be concerned about possible consequences. If you find yourself in this situation, you should consult a lawyer right away to discuss your legal rights.

Our attorneys at Staver Accident Injury Lawyers, P.C. have years of experience helping car accident victims. Contact us right away at (312) 236-2900 to schedule a free and confidential consultation.

Driving Without a License

If you have failed to get your license but you are driving, you will face penalties from the state. Driving without a license is a Class B misdemeanor, which can result in a fine of up to $1,500 or 180 days in jail or both.

Driving While Having an Expired License

Neglecting to renew your license in a timely manner can pose a problem. If you are driving on a license that has been expired for a year or more, you will be charged with a Class B misdemeanor.

Driving While Having a Suspended or Revoked License

Driving with a suspended or revoked license can land you in more trouble than just driving without a license. When your license has been suspended or revoked, it means the state has taken your driving privileges away, so if you’re caught disobeying this ruling, your punishment is more severe.
The first violation will result in a Class A misdemeanor, which carries a fine of up to $2,500 or a jail term of up to one year, or both. Subsequent violations are Class 4 felonies, which are punishable by a fine of up to $25,000 or a prison term of one to three years or both.

Driving Without Registration

If you failed to register your car with the DMV, you could be facing some legal troubles. To register a car in Illinois, you must comply with the state’s mandatory insurance law. The law states you need to have the following amounts of automobile insurance at minimum:

  • $25,000: to cover injury or death of one person in a car accident
  • $50,000: to cover injury or death of more than one person in a car accident
  • $20,000: to cover a person’s property damage

If you don’t have your vehicle registered, or you haven’t complied with the mandatory insurance laws, your license plates will be suspended until you are properly registered, insured, and have paid a $100 reinstatement fee.

Call an Experienced Lawyer

Driving without a license and registration is not advised, but doing so does not mean you automatically lose your rights. After the accident, refrain from giving too much information to the other driver or the insurance companies. Instead, you should contact our attorneys at Staver Accident Injury Lawyers, P.C. Let us help you reach a positive outcome so you can work on recovering from your accident and getting your driver’s license. Contact us today at (312) 236-2900 to schedule a free consultation.

Free Consultation
(312) 236-2900
(312) 236-2900
Skip to content