Children are far more likely to sustain a serious injury when they are involved in a car accident. Their bones are weaker, their brains are in a fragile state, and their bodies cannot withstand the force that can be endured by adults. For this reason, the state of Illinois has created a number of laws that dictate how children should be protected when riding in cars and other vehicles. Infants and young children are required to ride in car seats, while older youth are required to use booster seats.
If you or your child have been injured in a car accident, you may be worried about how you will pay for your newly acquired financial burden. You are likely dealing with medical bills, rehabilitation costs, lost work wages, and the cost of car repairs. The Chicago car accident attorneys at Staver Accident Injury Lawyers, P.C. understand how difficult these situations can be. With everything you are dealing with, the idea of filing a lawsuit may seem overwhelming. However, with our help, your case will have a greater chance of success. We will work tirelessly to recover the funds you need.
Call Staver Accident Injury Lawyers, P.C. at (312) 236-2900 for a free and confidential consultation.
According to Illinois law, children under the age of eight are required to use a child safety seat when riding in a vehicle. Children between the ages of zero and four are required to use a car seat, one with a harness that completely secures the child from all sides. After a child turns four, they are required to use a booster seat until the age of eight. Illinois also has a weight requirement associated with child safety harnesses. The American Academy of Pediatrics recommends that children under 40 pounds use safety seats when traveling on the roadway.
To protect children riding in cars, the state of Illinois has a number of penalties for violating child car safety laws. The maximum fine for not using a safety restraint on a child 8 or younger, for example, is $75 for a first offense. The ticket cost is $200 for subsequent offenses. Officers are also allowed to issue tickets for a number of other safety violations, such as not using a booster seat and not using a safety harness for a child who weighs less than 40 pounds.
When it comes to roadway safety, there is nothing more important than using the proper equipment for children 8-years old and under. However, there are other hazards, such as drunk drivers and roadway obstacles that can lead to victims sustaining serious injuries. If you or your child have been hurt in a roadway accident that was not your fault, you may be able to pursue compensation. Financial losses that are often pursued include medical bills, loss of familial relationships, and pain and suffering.
Our personal injury attorneys serve clients throughout the Chicago area, including Aurora, Elgin, Hinsdale, Joliet, Naperville, and Waukegan. To find out more about filing a personal injury lawsuit, contact the Chicago personal injury attorneys at Staver Accident Injury Lawyers, P.C. You can call (312) 236-2900 now to receive a free consultation.