Home Do I Have to Carry Proof of Insurance in Illinois?
In the state of Illinois, every driver must have car insurance to protect themselves in car accidents. The minimum coverage required in Illinois is $25,000 for the injury or death of one individual, $50,000 for the injury or death of more than one individual, and $20,000 for property damage.
Although these are the minimum amounts ordered by Illinois law, it’s usually a smart decision to carry an insurance policy with higher maximum coverage. In addition to meeting the minimum car insurance requirements, Illinois drivers must carry proof of insurance so that they have it in the event a law enforcement officer asks for it.
It’s important to understand the particulars of your auto insurance policy, but any Illinois drivers who are unable to show proof of insurance will face serious penalties including a fine between $500 and $1,000 and a license plate suspension of up to four months. If you are caught driving without proof of insurance for the first time but are able to prove that you have insurance in court, you will be responsible for a $100 fine. In the event that you cause bodily injury without carrying insurance proof, you may face a year in jail and a fine of $2,500 for this misdemeanor conviction.
In Illinois, drivers may be randomly selected to prove that they have the required auto insurance coverage. If you are chosen, you will need to complete and return a form that includes your insurance company and policy information within 30 days of when you received it. Failure to do so will result in a license plate suspension or fines.
In most cases, Illinois drivers show proof of their auto insurance by keeping their insurance card in their vehicle or wallet. However, in recent years, many car insurers have implemented a mobile phone application that allows policyholders to show proof on your phone. While this may seem convenient, keep in mind that if your phone dies and you are unable to prove your insurance coverage, you will face penalties.
The experienced lawyers at Staver Accident Injury Lawyers, P.C. can assist you if you’re in an accident and must show proof of insurance. To increase your chances of obtaining the best possible outcome, call us right after your ticket or arrest.
Our car accident attorneys serve clients throughout the Chicago area, including Aurora, Elgin, Hinsdale, Joliet, Naperville, and Waukegan. Call us at (312) 236-2900 to discuss how we may be able to help you.
When you’re fighting for maximum compensation, we know what it takes to get it.
We’re ready to fight for you. We’re ready to be your ally. And we’re ready to start right now. Don’t waste time, contact our law offices today.FREE CASE EVALUATION – (312) 236-2900
Serious injuries don’t happen on a 9-to-5 schedule, which is why we are always available to help if you have been hurt. Our team is available around the clock to provide the support you need.